The Diabetes Association of Barbados (not the Diabetes and Hypertension Association of Barbados) was founded in April 1975 by the Late Mr. John Grace, Mr. Hugh Mapp, Mrs. Dorothy Talma-Monteil, Mr. Don Norville and Mr. Wilfred Ferguson. At the time, they recognized that literature was available for free distribution; however, persons suffering with Diabetes were not receiving the necessary attention or guidance for their illness. 


The Association has had a number of presidents during its existence. Mr. John Grace was the first President, followed by many others over the years including Mr. Hugh Mapp, Mr. Don Norville, Dr. Livi Forde and Sir Cliviston King. The current president is Mrs Noreen Merritt. All of these persons as well as the many volunteers have provided valuable service not only to the Association, but to persons living with Diabetes.


The Headquarters of the Association is at “Jessamine Cot”, Cnr. Jessamine Avenue and Beckles Road, St. Michael. The association has ten regions across Barbados (Northern, Northeastern, West Central, Western, Southern, Eastern, Central Region, Gall Hill, Glebe and a Childrens' Group). These regions hold monthly meetings at which various topics are discussed by professionals, in their various fields related to Diabetes.

We are also the only Member Association of the International Diabetes Federation in Barbados since 1994.